A club dedicated to you

One of the university's oldest societies, the hiking club predates the University of Manchester by several decades. In all that time, our goal has been to help everyone get into the great outdoors. We run weekly trips all over the UK, from Snowdonia and the Lakes to the Scottish Highlands, and frequent socials where you can meet like minded people.

We, as a society, are bond by formal rules enshrined in our Constitution. You can find there our aims and all kind of information on how the club is running. We also have an Equality Policy, made by the SU and enforced by our Inclusions Secretary.

Run with love by people (2004/05)

Picture of Andrew Nelms
Chair
Andrew Nelms
  • Contact: chair@umhc.org.uk
Picture of Mark Owen
Vice-Chair
Mark Owen
  • Contact: vicechair@umhc.org.uk
Picture of Chris Fox
Treasurer
Chris Fox
  • Contact: treasurer@umhc.org.uk
Picture of Mark Eccles
Secretary
Mark Eccles
  • Contact: secretary@umhc.org.uk
Picture of Jake Thompson
Hikes Secretary
Jake Thompson
  • Contact: hikesec1@umhc.org.uk
Picture of Michael Johnston
Hikes Secretary
Michael Johnston
  • Contact: hikesec2@umhc.org.uk
Picture of Catherine Jones
Mountaineering Secretary
Catherine Jones
Picture of Kate Fuller
Kit Secretary
Kate Fuller
  • Contact: kit@umhc.org.uk
Picture of Dave Little
Publicity and Merchandise Secretary
Dave Little
  • Contact: publicity@umhc.org.uk
Picture of Sean Wheeler
Publicity and Merchandise Secretary
Sean Wheeler
  • Contact: publicity@umhc.org.uk
Picture of Bex Pipe
Social Secretary
Bex Pipe
  • Contact: socialsec1@umhc.org.uk
Picture of Paul Docksey
Social Secretary
Paul Docksey
  • Contact: socialsec2@umhc.org.uk
Picture of Alex Murphy
Transport Secretary
Alex Murphy
  • Contact: transport@umhc.org.uk
Picture of Iain Cartwright
Website Secretary
Iain Cartwright
  • Contact: webmaster@umhc.org.uk
Picture of Nick Blaney
Weekends Secretary
Nick Blaney
  • Contact: weekends@umhc.org.uk

And a massive thanks to all the old gits who keep badgering us when something is not well done. Also, they are often here too help you mastering some practical skills and ramble about their crazy personal life stories.