A club dedicated to you

One of the university's oldest societies, the hiking club predates the University of Manchester by several decades. In all that time, our goal has been to help everyone get into the great outdoors. We run weekly trips all over the UK, from Snowdonia and the Lakes to the Scottish Highlands, and frequent socials where you can meet like minded people.

We, as a society, are bond by formal rules enshrined in our Constitution. You can find there our aims and all kind of information on how the club is running. We also have an Equality Policy, made by the SU and enforced by our Inclusions Secretary.

Run with love by people (2005/06)

Picture of Mark Eccles
Chair
Mark Eccles
  • Contact: chair@umhc.org.uk
Picture of Hereward Cooper
Vice-Chair
Hereward Cooper
  • Contact: vicechair@umhc.org.uk
Picture of Richard Andrews
Treasurer
Richard Andrews
  • Contact: treasurer@umhc.org.uk
Picture of Michael Goff
Secretary
Michael Goff
  • Contact: secretary@umhc.org.uk
Picture of James Collingwood
Hikes Secretary
James Collingwood
  • Contact: hikesec1@umhc.org.uk
Picture of Chris Waring
Hikes Secretary
Chris Waring
  • Contact: hikesec2@umhc.org.uk
Picture of Nick Blainey
Hikes Secretary
Nick Blainey
  • Contact: hikesec3@umhc.org.uk
Picture of Chris Owen
Mountaineering Secretary
Chris Owen
Picture of Catherine Jones
Publicity and Merchandise Secretary
Catherine Jones
  • Contact: publicity@umhc.org.uk
Picture of Ali Garrigan
Social Secretary
Ali Garrigan
  • Contact: socialsec1@umhc.org.uk
Picture of Alex Murphy
Transport Secretary
Alex Murphy
  • Contact: transport@umhc.org.uk
Picture of Iain Cartwright
Website Secretary
Iain Cartwright
  • Contact: webmaster@umhc.org.uk
Picture of Kate Fuller
Weekends Secretary
Kate Fuller
  • Contact: weekends@umhc.org.uk
Picture of Andrew Nelms
Welsh 3ks and Nethy House
Andrew Nelms

And a massive thanks to all the old gits who keep badgering us when something is not well done. Also, they are often here too help you mastering some practical skills and ramble about their crazy personal life stories.